8th European Congress of Young Farmers: "The role of young farmers in food security""

07 December 2022 | 14.30 to 17.30 CET

This Congress was created in 2012 under the initiative of MEP Nuno Melo and the Portuguese Farmers Confederation (CAP). After that MEP Esther Herranz García (Spain), the EPP Group and ASAJA endorsed this initiative aiming to promote European agriculture, and rural development while valuing the fundamental role of young farmers in this domain.

The 8th edition of the Congress will take place at the European Parliament on 7 December 2022 and is co-organised by MEPs Nuno Melo (Portugal), Simone Schmiedtbauer (Austria), Herbert Dorfmann (Italy), Juan Ignacio Zoido Álvarez (Spain) and Michaela Šojdrová (Czech Republic).

The European Young Farmers Prize is an essential part of the Congress.  It highlights and rewards young farmers for sustainable and innovative ideas and practices that address the challenges facing the agricultural sector, such as generational renewal, climate change mitigation and adaptation, food security and technological advances. The Prize was introduced in 2012 to better recognise the central role, played by young farmers in rural areas and acknowledge the innovative approaches they apply in their farming activity.
The future of food and farming is in the hands of EU young farmers, who play a crucial role in developing a fully sustainable agricultural sector – one that supports environmental care, climate change action and smart solutions for providing safe and high-quality food for the European consumer. The “Farm to Fork” strategy for sustainable food as part of the new European Green Deal, suggests the way forward for a transformed food system from production to consumption. Young farmers’ innate capacity to innovate, places them as the natural front-runners of the agri-food system transformation. 

Given the above-mentioned trends and challenges facing young farmers across Europe, the Prize will be awarded to the best young farmers’ projects in one or more of the following categories: 

  • • Best Digital Project
  • • Most Resilient Project
  • • Best Project on Improving Rural Areas 


More information!

Subscribe to our newsletter